RSS

Turkish Baklava

01 Jan

29227_1294436566924_2092916_n

Australia, even though a secluded continent from Asia, is as diverse as ever when it comes to its people and cultures. Just around Fairfield in Sydney, you’ll find a lot of folks from different regions of the world. Some of them have put up shop in the town’s arcade.

It was a breezy early afternoon when my family dropped by the Fairfield Arcade to do some errands. And along the way, we checked out this little Middle Eastern bakery (which I was later informed it was Turkish). What caught my interest was the baklava, an “ancient” Turkish dessert. I’ve seen it on the Travel Channel before and by the looks of it, it seemed scrumptious. So I convinced my sister to buy me some of those and we got a set of baklavas which were four pieces and had different shapes.

29227_1294436526923_4569262_n

Typically, baklava is made of filo: a kind of super thin pastry dough usually moulded together in layers. So it’s got that crisp and light texture once baked. In between layers are special baklava fillings of honey, nuts, raisins and even dates.

Having a taste of the baklava truly overwhelmed my taste for sweetness. On the outside, this Middle Eastern pastry looked pretty ordinary. I mean, there’s no powdered sugar, no sugary glaze on top, no candy toppings… There’s no hint that it’s a really sweet dessert. But I tell you, this thing should be paired with the strongest coffee you’ve got! Say goodbye to your Krispy Kremes!

MDR

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Australia

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Turkish Baklava

  1. sarahryan85

    March 17, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    I love baklava! Probably a good thing I don’t get to eat it often though…

     
  2. beingserbian

    March 17, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    My mother makes baklava…we’ve got our own version of it here in Serbia ;)

     
    • mikkoramos

      May 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

      That is awesome! Would love to try it sometime! :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers

